Blog Single

Highlights of the 2nd Day of The Session

The second day of the Session continued began with the Country Statement of Jamaica followed by Kiribati.


One of the important agenda of the day was considering the new membership application received from the Republic of Cote d’Ivoire for the full membership status in ICC. Dr. Jelfina C. Alouw presented the agenda and the Session agreed to approve the Republic of Cote d’Ivoire as the 21st member of ICC.

Prof. Angui Tehua Pascal, General Director, Production and Food Safety Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, the Republic of Cote d’Ivoire presented the Coconut Sector: Status & Perspectives of Republic of Cote d’Ivoire. 

Mr. Gregory Bardies, Executive Director, Sustainable Coconut Partnership, also presented the potential collaboration with ICC.

The main agenda of the 2nd day of the Session was the ICC Annual Report and 5-Year Updated Strategic Plan for 2020-2024 presented by the Executive Director which included highlights of current year 2022 activities, updates of activities of 2023 and plan of program for 2024. One of which is the 60th Session & Ministerial Meeting in Colombo, Sri Lanka and the 51st International COCOTECH Conference in 2024. During the meeting renewal of MoU between ICC and CABI was signed. There were fruitful discussions held on the different agenda in which some productive suggestions shared by the delegates.

The other agendas discussed were endorsement of the ICC Quality Standards of Coconut Products, New Structure of ICC-Scientific Advisory Committee on Health (SACH) and Term of Reference, followed by the appointment of New Assistant Director and extension of service for Secretariat staff reaching retirement age.

The Session also endorsed the financial agenda of the secretariat. Since Government of Sri Lanka is hosting the 60th ICC Session & Ministerial meeting in 2024, the ICC chair has been handed over to Sri Lanka.


The meeting adjourned with the statements by the Outgoing Chair and Incoming Chair, vote of thanks by the plenipotentiary delegates and observer organization and closing remarks by Dr. Jelfina C. Alouw, Executive Director.

Tags Cloud

Share this Post: